New appointments as Heads of Institutions

Finance and Mass Media Minister Mangala Samaraweera has appointed the following as the Heads of the State Media Institutions with effect from yesterday. Film Directress Inoka Sathyanganee, Chairperson of the Sri Lanka Rupavahini Corporation. Finance and Media Ministry Additional Secretary (Development) Thilaka Jayasundara as the Chairperson of the Independent Television Network.

Siddeek Mohamed Farook as the Chairman of the Sri Lanka Broadcasting Corporation and Uma Rajamanthri as the Chairperson of SELACINE.

Meanwhile, Agriculture Minister Mahinda Amaraweera has approved the appointment of heads of three institutions under the Agriculture Ministry. Attorney Upali Mohotti has been appointed as Chairman of the Food Promotion Board, while former Ministry Secretary Amaranath Abeygunasekera has been appointed as Chairman of the Ceylon Fertilizer Company and Jagath Perera has been appointed as Chairman of the Commercial Fertilizer Company. Heads of four other institutions under the purview of the Agriculture Ministry are to be appointed within next two days, Ministry sources said