President pays homage to late PM S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike

The 58th Death Anniversary of late Prime Minister and the founder of the SLFP, S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike was held under the patronage of the Chairman of SLFP, President Maithripala Sirisena at the Bandaranaike Memorial Monument in Horogolla, yesterday (26th Sept.).


In parallel to this event the world’s first female Prime Minister Madam Sirimavo Bandaranaike and late Anura Bandaranaike were also commemorated.


Former President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga and Ms. Sunethra Bandaranaike paid floral tributes to the Bandaranaike Memorial Monument and later President Maithripala Sirisena placed the floral wreath at the Monument.


Mahanayake of the Amarapura Chapter, Most Ven. Kotugoda Dhammawasa Nayake Thero, Anunayake of the Malwathu Chapter, Most Ven. Niyangoda Vijithasiri Thero, former Prime Minister D. M. Jayaratne, and ministers and MPs of the SLFP participated.