A digital library for all districts

The first stage of establishing digital libraries will be initiated in Colombo, Kurunegala, Polonnaruwa, Badulla and Batticaloa districts within the next few months.


An Operation Unit headed by Education Ministry Secretary Sunil Hettiarachchi to supervise this project was set up recently at the National Library and Documentation Services Board.


The government has taken steps to establish digital libraries covering all the districts of the country.


The program has been initiated by ICTA, National Library and Documentations Services board and the Education Ministry.