A giant step by the Department of Government Information

The ceremony to felicitate award winning documentary film directors who did a yeomen service to the Government Film Unit as well as to the country such as Dr. Lester James Peiris, Sugathapala Senarath Yapa, Tissa Liyanasuriya, and Keerthi Sri Perera was held yesterday (18th Sept.) at 6.00 p.m. at the Auditorium of the Department of Government Information.

Minister Dr. Rajitha Senaratna, Deputy Minister Lasantha Alagiyawanna and the Director General of the Department of Government Information Dr. Ranga Kalansooriya felicitated the Directors of yesteryear.

In addition, it was also an occasion to digitalize documentary films done by Government Film Unit and hand it over to the National Archives Department for conservation. It was handed over to the Director General of National Archives Ms Nadeera Rupasinghe by the Director General Dr Ranga Kalansooriya.
In addition, 100 films of historic value as well as 1,000 photographs were released to the internet. It was done by none other than the veterans Sugathapala Senarath Yapa, Tissa Liyanasuriya, Keerthi Sri Perera and Sumithra Peiris on behalf of Dr Lester James Peiris.
Dr Rajitha Senaratna said that he has watched these films as a child or a youngster. It was a fantatsic time. I thank the Director General Government Information Department for organizing such an event to felicitate the veterans who gave us mental happiness. Conserving these films for the future generations is a great step, said the minister.
Director General Dr. Ranga Kalansooriya said that films and documentaries which were conserved at the Government Film Unit from 1947 will be handed over to the National Archives Department as they are the veterans in conservation. In addition, we will release 100 films to the internet. As the money used for them was from the public the real owners are the public. In addition, in an era where information is being given to the public we have to release these to the people. This is a giant step by the Information Department.