EU lauds Lanka's success in anti-COVID-19 efforts

The Delegation of the European Union (EU) to Sri Lanka and the EU Member States Embassies in Colombo issuing a clarification on the list of countries that will be permitted to travel to the EU stated that Sri Lanka exclusion from the list must not be “considered as being blacklisted” and that the list will be regularly updated and revised to include more countries as and when the situation improves.
“The EU and Member States Ambassadors resident in Colombo recognise the successful efforts of the Sri Lankan Government to contain the spread of COVID-19.... however the absence of a country on this positive list should therefore not be considered as being blacklisted.”
The EU upon lifting of restrictions on non-essential travel has listed 15 countries whose nationalities will be permitted to enter the border of EU member states. The EU stated that with the process of lifting internal border controls are underway, and that the member states are preparing for the gradual reopening to travel from outside the EU.
“The decision to lift travel restrictions with non-EU countries is ultimately the prerogative of EU members and the Schengen Associated Countries. To that effect, Member States and Associated countries have been working together to agree an initial positive list of countries with which borders could be reopened soon on the basis of objective criteria, including the epidemiological situation in the given country and possibility to seek reciprocity with the country concerned.”
The EU added that the short list being examined at the moment is limited to 15 countries. It can be seen as a first step towards a return to normality.